Update from Tony

I have been working in Vietnam now nearly 2 months and I really love my work. My workweek is very busy with meetings all day, but very rewarding and enjoyable. A typical schedule for me is as follows:

Monday, head to a factory near the Cambodian border, nearly 5 hours of car time. I am grateful for a nice car and our excellent driver, Mr. Khoung, which enables me to work on my computer for most of the drive to and from even on the bumpiest of roads!

On Tuesday-Thursday I am at factory much closer to our home, which allows for a much shorter time in the car, only about 20 minutes to the factory.

Friday’s are the NLO day (Nike Liaison Office) and a chance to get caught up on meetings with other colleague’s and take care of the many office items that I can’t take care of during the earlier part of the week. All in all, the weeks fly by.

I am still working out daily, but it’s taking time to adjust from years of running at lunch in nearly ideal conditions to now getting up at 5:00am and running in high humidity and very hot conditions. I am sure I won’t get much sympathy from my Texas friends. Bailey is a real trooper and gets up with me twice a week to run 6 miles. A good friend once told me, these conditions are poor man’s altitude training. The running in our new neighborhood is very different. While not as crazy as District 1 (main business part of town), which is full of motorbikes coming from every direction and sidewalks full of folks selling their Pho or Bahn Mi’s, District 2 is quieter.

photo 2

Above photo is a view of our main road that we run on. It looks simple, right?

The road is full of dogs (I think many might be strays), chickens, rooster, and ducks.

There’s a pig that also lives at the base of apartment building as well.

photo 1

It’s fairly surreal to get used to with the mix of city and farm living all in one. One minute it is the sound of motorbikes zooming by mixed with the sound of a rooster telling everyone its time to get up.photo 3 

The one benefit of waking up so early is this great view. 

One thought on “Update from Tony

  1. It sounds to me that all threes you are adjusting fairly well, and getting into a routine. I’m glad Bailey will be in school soon so she can finally meet some new friends. She is a lot like you Tony, she is a Peaple person! And a leader.and once you get in the house it will be even better. So hang in there, it’s only going to get better.
    Love you three….God bless all of you. GG

Leave a Reply

