Just a quick flight away…

Is this spectacular beach!

IMG_1479

We decided that a quick weekend get-away before school started was a brilliant idea! We hopped a quick flight to Da Nang and the famed China Beach. After visiting, we can understand why it’s consistently rated one of the world’s best beaches.

Right before moving here, I discovered a Bon Appetit magazine article about Hoi An and the Red Bridge Cooking School & Restaurant. I made sure (badgered?) Tony knew this was a place that I wanted to visit sooner rather than later.  So, we winged our way up there. It was a truly beautiful place and I can’t wait to go back. I envision taking visitors there (hint, hint) so they can see the frenetic city life of Saigon and the calm of the ocean.

The sands are crystal white and the water is so clear, you can see the little fishies swimming around your toes. When the sun hit the water, it looked like someone dumped glitter in the ocean. Thank goodness for the breeze because it was HOT!  Even with religious sunscreen application, we all got a little toasted the first day. Tony keeps reminding me that the sun is hot down here near the equator but I somehow keep forgetting.

On our second day, we went into the historic city of Hoi An. It’s a UNESCO World Heritage Site, so it looks a lot like it would have in it’s heyday at a major port for silk trading. It’s a gorgeous city and they specialize in these beautiful silk lanterns.  They’re everywhere and especially pretty when they’re lit up at night. Tony & I discussed that when we moved to Vietnam, we wouldn’t load up on lots of things we didn’t really need. Obviously, these lanterns don’t fall into that category, so we bought 3. I’m looking forward to hanging these on our front porch of the villa when we move in later in September.

IMG_1478

 

Hoi An is full of little areas to explore. The Japanese bridge is a famous landmark that’s fun to cross over. There’s lots of alley ways to explore and get lost in. There’s also an amazing amount of tailors in this little town. I heard estimates of anywhere between 300-500! I’m doing some research on these best ones so when I go back, I’ll have a dress made.

securedownload (2)                                                      IMG_1304

Our last day was spent again at the beach, because let’s be honest, who can stay away? The water was so clear that Tony & Bailey decided to go snorkeling with a tour. Since I love the beach & ocean but don’t love being in the ocean, I stayed back. They had a great time, save for a few jelly fish stings. Luckily, they weren’t huge, so the welts went away pretty quickly. By the time they came back, I could only see 1 on Bailey.

Now that we’re back home, I’m fighting a bit of a summer cold. Can it be a summer cold when it’s perpetual summer? Maybe we’ll have to call it just a plain old cold.

School started and Bailey’s liking it. She’s started to make some friends, which is good. When I picked her up today, I saw a group of girls all with their phones out exchanging numbers. That’s a promising sign.

I’ll let Bailey tell you all about school on our next post.

 

 

One thought on “Just a quick flight away…

Leave a Reply

