Trips week 2015

Hey! Bailey here! A couple weeks ago I had trips week at my school. For those of you who don’t know, trips week is a week where different grades go to different places and have a week off of school. My grade spent a week in Dalat in central Vietnam. We did a lot of really fun things such as camping, zip lining, ropes course, repelling (down a cliff) or absailing as it is called in British terms, trekking, and raft building competitions. Repelling was incredibly scary (it was my first time) but super fun too. You are basically hooked up to a rope and harness and then you walk backwards down the cliff while holding on to the rope. Repelling was 25 meters off the ground. You can also jump a little if you are a daredevil.

I also really liked zip lining and the ropes course. We did the leap of faith which is where you climb up a ladder and climb onto a small metal square where you stand and jump to a metal bar, hold on, then drop down. It was really fun but really scary. Another thing we did at the ropes course was monkey bridge. Monkey bridge is where you climb up to a wobbly bridge, walk (or run) across and when you get to the end, jump off. That wasn’t nearly as scary as the leap of faith.

Another fun thing was camping. We had to trek 11 kilometers to the boat area where we took a boat over to the campsite. The campsite had animals such as wild boars, horses, roosters (which we heard at 5:00 am), dogs, and cats who were always begging for food and head butting our legs. The thing I didn’t like about the campsite was the bathroom because there was spiders EVERYWHERE. Other than that, it wasn’t so bad. The food was okay (although we pretty much had the same thing for breakfast and lunch and dinner), and the tents were alright. I slept terrible that night. I was in my sleeping bag upside down on accident so I couldn’t zip the bottom so my feet were super cold. I was basically lying in a blanket tube. The tent wasn’t very well insulated so I was really cold and it was really foggy outside so the tent got kind of soggy and wet. Also, the tent was on a slope and I was at the top of the slope so I rolled down to the edge of the tent into my other tent mates in the middle of the night. Then the roosters crowed at about 5:00 am so by the time I finally fell asleep I was awaken by my friend who thought it was 7:00 am and soon realized she read her watch wrong and it was only 6:20.

Other than sleeping in the tent, the trip was really really fun with all the activities and the cool weather we got. Look below for photos from the trip!

MSH_1932MSH_1931MSH_1769DSC_0247DSC_0332MSH_1721IMG_4358

Leave a Reply

